Blackstrap Sailing Club
Eb’s Sunset Series
Wednesday nights-
May and June

Venue Blackstrap Sailing Club.

Rules The races will be governed by the current Race Rules of Sailing,

Eligibility Each competitor must be a member in good standing of the Blackstrap SC.

Classes all dinghies are welcome.

5. Schedule Wednesday evenings May and June

May 6, May 13, May 20, May 27,
June 3, June 10, June 17, June 24

First race 6:00 PM 5 races

6. Scoring. The Low Point Scoring System, as described in Appendix A of the RRS (Racing Rules of Sailing), No drop races will apply. 5 races an evening, 40 races total are scheduled. DNS for the evening is maximum number of boats in the evening plus 1 X 5. Races will be approximately 10-15 minutes in length. 2-1-go start sequence with minimal time between races.

Safety All participants are required to wear a PFD when on the water. Safety Inspections may be conducted to insure that all boats comply. During the cooler part of the series the 3 dump rule may apply.

Race Committee. Participants are expected to run an evening of races; RC receives 0 points for a maximum of 1 evening.

Courses windward leeward with a reaching finish or up wind finish is encouraged, modelling the races of regional and national events. Heavy air may require a reaching triangle course.

Awards Glass mugs for top 5 overall, top 5 youth (18 and under) no duplicate wins,
History. The evening race tradition was started by Eb Fass, founder of the BSSC. Short races encouraging improving boat handling and starts, mark roundings, fleet tactics to prepare for the summer of racing. The mission of the Sunset Series of Races is to encourage all sailors, slow or fast, young or old, novice or elite to have fun sailing and racing.

The Sunset Series Cup shall be presented after the last race in the Blackstrap Sailing Club clubhouse.

Past Youth Champions

1999 Brad Grant
2000 Brad Grant
2001 Brad Grant
2002 Sydney Byrns
2003 Jo-el van Bergen
2004 Mickey Pawlyshyn
2005 Corey Coons
2006 Paul Lagace
2007 Paul Lagace
2008 Kendal Ross/Jorden Guillou
2009 Payton Byrns
2010 Tanys Byrns
2011 Tanys Byrns
2012 Alec Watters
2013 Andre Gagnon
2014 Andre Gagnon